Nenagh Castle, Co. Tipperary
Nenagh Castle comprises a large circular keep and twin-towered gatehouse with adjoining hall, constructed in phases during the thirteenth century. It stands at the northern end of Nenagh town by Theobald fitzWalter.
The castle served as the main seat of the Butler family until the second half of the fourteenth century, when they transferred their base of operations to Kilkenny. After the Williamite wars at the end of the seventeenth century, Nenagh Castle was one of a number of such fortifications to be dismantled as a precaution against their use in any future disorders. In 1703 the castle, town and manor lands of Nenagh were sold by the 2nd duke of Ormonde to Nehemiah Donnellan, ending the 500-year Butler connection with Nenagh. The keep survived relatively intact until 1760, when a local farmer, Solomon Newsome, tried to blow it up and thereby eradicate the resident sparrows, who were ruining his crops. The keep was partially damaged but survived the explosion, and around 1860 a floor was added to the top of the tower to convert it into a belfry. The substantial remains have recently been conserved and it stands as a significant Irish castle monument. The castle is described in this Heritage Guide by Chris Corlett.
|Publication Data||December 2020|
|Subjects||Nenagh Castle, Co. Tipperary|
Heritage Guide No. 91: Nenagh Castle, Co. Tipperary
- ISBN: ISSN 0790-982X
- Author(s): Chris Corlett
- Availability: In Stock